The entrance leads to a common open area with an ample sized pool and a summer outdoor kitchen shared with the occupants of DIMITRA.
The stairs lead to the terrace and the entrance to the home. On the left is the fully equipped kitchen leading to the main twin-bedded room and to the right is the fireplace. The full sized bathroom is next to a smaller bedroom with twin beds. The wooden stairs lead to the attic/loft area with a double bed.
All the furniture are copies of originals found in the Historical Museum of Heraklion, Crete, but the lamps and fittings are original.
Tiles used are hand made, dated c 1920, taken from old demolished houses and the marble sink was found in a Turkish Hammam. The taps are copies of those of the 1920's. The reddish plaster on the walls is made of ground tiles, the same material that was used in the monasteries of the period 14th - 16th century.
Private parking for two cars.
There is evidence handed down through the generations that there was a church on this site many years ago.
Location: The beach is located 10 minutes walk away and about the same for the village of Elounda, about 1 kilometre.
- House size: 75 m²
- Bedroom 1: 2 single beds
- Bedroom 2: 1 double bed
- Pool view,
- Mountain view,
- Flat-screen TV,
- Safety Deposit Box,
- Air Conditioning,
- Iron, Ironing Facilities,
- Seating Area,
- Washing Machine,
- Private entrance,
- Mosquito net,
- Bath, Hairdryer, Toilet,
- Bathroom, Toilet paper,
- Dining area,
- Electric kettle,
- Coffee machine,
- 4 Seat Dining Table,
- Children's high chair,
- Outdoor furniture,
- Outdoor dining area,
- Towels, Linen,
- Upper floors accessible by stairs only
The history of the house 'PENELOPE'
The Venetian occupation of the island ended in the 14th century when Ibraim Pasha, acting as Supreme General of the Ottoman Empire, took possession. For 400 consecutive years, Crete suffered the Turkish suppressive occupation. Contrary to the Venetian occupying forces, who promoted free language and religion, the Turks prohibited both. For the entire period of Turkish occupation Language was taught in 'Secret Schools' and Religious rites were observed in small obscure Churches scattered in the mountains. When these Houses were under construction, a fascinating discovery was made.
An iron Christian Cross wrapped in a cloth was found within a wall as well as a number of Icons. These Icons are now, prominently displayed on the same wall in the Houses of EFTERPI and DIMITRA. Legends handed down through the generations have told us that on this site was a prominent Church dedicated to PROPHITIS ELIAS (the Prophet Eli), which had been constructed long before the Venetian period. It is probable that the Church being on the top of a hill overlooking Elounda/Elous, had served the Religious needs of the inhabitants of the region. The Church was burnt down and destroyed, by the Turks, at the beginning of the 15th century and was never reconstructed. A new, but smaller Church dedicated to PROPHITIS ELIAS, built in 1950, can be found just 50 metres away.
No engravings of the original Church have been found. The site came into the possession of the Mavrikakis family, who were the first to settle in the area, which in turn led to the village being named Mavrikiano. Descendants of the original family sold this property to ANEMOS LTD in 1999, who undertook the reconstruction with reverence to its history and the environment.
You are indeed living in a Church and we trust that this will
be an unforgettable experience!
Google Map & How To Get There: